Each of the twelve houses has a particular constellation of the zodiac associated with it. Since there are twelve constellations in the zodiac, each one will go along with one of the houses. This is called the "whole house system." As you can see the number twelve again holds particular significance  in astrology.

The image at the right shows the twelve constellations in the order they shine in the sky. They each are a doorway to vast amounts  of knowledge. We can learn to perceive their meaning in a chart and apply the learning in our lives.

Summing Up

Each house is related to the others, just like one area of our life is related to all the others. We all have experienced how our relationships and our career are impacted by how we are with our feelings and inner world. All twelve houses make up the whole chart and speak to the inherent harmony and wholeness we can create in our lives. There is exquisite balance and abundance when we dance in our wholeness. ​

If you look closely at the center of the sample star chart, you will see the house numbers. They are listed in a counterclockwise direction. This is the direction the planets appear to move from our view on the Earth.

Because we read about Sun Signs in newspapers, magazines, and websites, we tend to recognize a constellation by the "sign" associated it. Below is a list of the constellations and their associated signs. The graphic symbol of each sign is called a "glyph." In the circle above, a star is placed by the glyph of Aries, the first sign of the zodiac. In keeping with being the first sign, Aries has a lot to do with beginnings. Moving around the circle starting at Aries, the remaining signs follow in a counterclockwise order and all twelve are listed below.

The Ram -  Aries                  The Balance - Libra

The Bull - Taurus                 The Scorpion - Scorpio

The Twins - Gemini             The Centaur - Sagittarius

The Crab - Cancer               The Sea Goat - Capricorn       

The Lion - Leo                      The Water Bearer - Aquarius

​The Virgin - Virgo                 The Fishes - Pisces

The sign in which the Sun, Moon, planet, or asteroid are placed reveals the manner in which we can express a certain aspect of our Self. Each Sky Being speaks to a specific ability of your Spirit. For example, Libra energies have to do with being related. This seventh sign calls us to think, feel, and do things in a manner where we take the time to consider both ourselves and others. Let's say  we have the planet Mars in Libra. Mars speaks to our passion, and when that passionate part of us seeks expression, we'd have the potential to do so in a way where we  consider the impact it may have on another. 

Astrological constellations have their roots in knowledge of ancient peoples. These peoples lived very close to nature and experienced the Sky and the Earth differently than the western culture. Therefore the configurations like The Ram, The Bull, and the Centaur convey much deeper meanings than revealed in modern textbook interpretations. We can learn to access deeper knowledge about the constellations and signs through our intuition and inner knowing. 

Constellations In a Star Chart

What's In a Star Chart?

A star chart is a kind of sky map. Our personal charts will depict a configuration of the Sun, Moon, planets, and constellations at the time of our birth. It is unique to each of us. A sample chart is shown at the right. It may look like hieroglyphics at first, but as we explore it a bit more, a chart will show it's genius. There is a very rich intelligence behind the design of a star chart. It has layers upon layers of meaning. 

A star chart specifically is formatted so that the Sun, Moon, planets, and asteroids are placed in a circle of twelve houses. Why twelve? It is a number in sacred geometry that has to do with creating a foundation, flow, and harmony in  life. Each of the twelve houses speaks to a different realm of life. For example, the fourth house addresses home, including our inner home and our feelings. The seventh house speaks to our relationships with others. The tenth house holds knowledge about our career or what we might understand as our walk and work in life.

The sky is ever shifting. We might refer to this as the "music of the spheres," a term that dates back to Pythagoras.

Throughout history humans have been inspired by the stars. There is a profound relationship between the sky and us. It is a delight to go outside at night and look into the constellations and feel your own relationship with them.

The Sun, Moon, planets, and asteroids in a star chart speak to aspects of our Beingness. Where they sit and sing in the sky at our birth is no mistake when we consider the "synchronicity" of things. The where, when, and how things come together at a certain time reveals important information about the event and the person or people involved. 

It is exciting to discover the positions and meanings of the Sky Beings at our birth. For example, the Sun in our chart speaks to how we can identify ourselves. It addresses self knowledge and how we understand and use our consciousness. It inspires us to be the author of our own life. The sign it is in reveals the ways we have come to enrich and express our Spirits.  For example, people with Sun in Pisces have chosen to explore and express aspects of themselves in a manner that is particularly artistic, meditative, shamanistic, or symbolic. 

There are a good number of Sky Beings that can be placed in a star chart. As you might imagine, there is an unfathomable amount of knowledge to be received from what they so willingly reveal. They include but are not limited to the following:

  • Sun and Moon (often referred to as the lights of the chart)
  • Planets: Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune 
  • Dwarf Planets: Pluto, Ceres, and Eris
  • Minor Planet: Chiron
  • Asteroids: Vesta, Pallas Athena, and Juno

​The classification of the smaller Sky Beings has been going through a lot of changes since the discovery of many new ones. The important thing to remember is that they are all significant in a star chart.  

What's In A Star Chart

The positions of the Sky Beings at your birth will show you things that are very significant about your gifts and potentials. This does not mean that the planets and their position determine your life and what will unfold. Instead, the Sky will reveal energies you chose to be aligned with at the moment you were born. They are energies you came to explore. You are free to make your choices and create your life. Each and every chart shows the extraordinary. There is a powerful mystical element to how we each can dance so intimately with nature. A star chart helps you understand your dance.

The star chart is designed to assist you in discovering more about yourself and your path. It will help you purposefully develop a sound foundation from which to create a life of joy and well-being. There is so much to learn in your chart and it is fun and intriguing to do so. In tending to your own learning and well-being, the energy created from your self-care will spill over. This energy is a big gift to the world because it will stimulate self-discovery and the importance of well-being for all life and our planet.

Aquarian Astrology

The Sun, Moon, Planets, and Asteroids In a Star Chart